Jeep 3.6 Firing Order [With Diagram]

Our editors pick the products & services we write about. When you buy through our links, we may get a commission. Learn more.

Are you having a cylinder misfire in your Jeep and are wondering about the cylinder numbers? Jeep 3.6 firing order is quite easy if you know how the mighty Pentastar 3.6 engine sits in the engine bay. 

This post goes through the firing orders of Jeep’s three famous models that use a 3.6L engine. The Jeep Grand Cherokee, the Jeep Wrangler (base model), and the Jeep Wrangler Sport. 

Hang on as I show you how to identify those cylinder numbers for correct firing order. 

Jeep 3.6 Firing Order Chart 

Jeep Models Model Years Firing Order 
Cherokee 3.62011, 2012, 2013, 2015, 20211-2-3-4-5-6
Wrangler 3.6 2012 – 20221-2-3-4-5-6
Wrangler Sport 3.62012 – 20221-2-3-4-5-6

Jeep Cherokee 3.6 Firing Order 

The Jeep Grand Cherokee 3.6 gave drivers a new reason to visit showrooms when it debuted in 2011. This vehicle featured the all-new Pentastar 3.6L engine, while its design is still rooted in its mechanical simplicity of the 1980s. The engine makes a horsepower of 285 and 260 lb.-ft of torque through its automatic five-speed transmission.

The Pentastar 3.6 engine was used in 2011, 2012, 2013, 2015, and 2021 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The firing order of these vehicles’ engines is 1-2-3-4-5-6 as it marks out the pattern of power delivery to the engine’s internal combustion chambers. This ignition sequence impacts the vibration of the engine and power distribution. 

jeep cherokee 3.6 firing order

With that in mind, the next thing to do is identify which cylinder is which. The cylinders on a Jeep Cherokee are numbered along two banks, and the cylinder numbers are on alternating banks. The non-sequential firing order minimizes vibrations and balances the load on the crankshaft. 

Identifying Cylinder Numbers on 3.6 Jeep Cherokee

Suppose you’re going after a misfire; you’ll first need to get to the hood and take the intake cover off to get to the spark plugs. Then, identify the front of the engine, which is towards the dash or where the oil filter is located. The engine is mounted sideways with the right bank towards the dash and the left bank to the front of the car. 

Similarly, cylinder #1 will be on the passenger’s side; the engine is mounted sideways, as I’ve mentioned. 

Read more: Jeep Wrangler 3.6L Vs. 3.8L Vs. 4.0L

Jeep Wrangler 3.6 Firing Order 

Known for its high ground clearance and excellent handling, the Jeep Wrangler is a legend on off roads. The Wrangler has received numerous updates with the 2012 model featuring the 3.6 Pentastar engine. This is a substantial upgrade over the former 3.8L V6 since the 3.6L Pentastar can output 285hp and 260 lb.-ft of torque. 

Thanks to the 3.6L Pentastar, the Jeep Wrangler moved from being a rolling brick to achieving 0-60mph in 6.6 seconds. The engine would continue to be king of the show in consequent models from 2013 to 2018. Further, a 6-speed manual transmission is standard, but drivers can choose a 5-speed automatic transmission. 

jeep wrangler 3.6 firing order

The 2020 Jeep Wrangler has three engine options: the 3.6L Pentastar, 2.0L Turbo L-4 engine, or 3.0 EcoDiesel V-6. On the 2021 Jeep Wrangler, you can choose between four engine choices, with the 3.6 being offered with eTorque or with ESS. The other two engines are the 2.0 Turbo with ESS and the 3.0 EcoDiesel V6.

The 2022 Jeep Wrangler also has a 3.6L Pentastar base engine, and four powertrains are available. 

Identifying Cylinder Numbers on Jeep Wrangler 

Again, the firing order on a Jeep Wrangler is 1-2-3-4-5-6. This firing order makes sense since the engine is a V6 with two separate banks on opposite sides. The right bank has the odd numbers while the left bank has the even numbers resulting in the 1-2-3-4-5-6 firing order. 

You’ll also notice that one cylinder is marginally forward of the other, sitting towards the engine’s front. To this end, cylinder #1 is the forward most in the right bank while cylinder number 2 is opposite but slightly to the left of cylinder#1. 

Cylinder #3 is in the middle towards the passenger’s side, while cylinder #4 is towards the front of the hood. Meanwhile, cylinder #5 is on the driver’s side towards the dash, and cylinder #6 is still on the driver’s side, nearest the firewall. 

Read more: 3.6L V6 24V VVT eTorque Engine Review

Jeep Wrangler Sport 3.6 Firing Order 

Also, starting from the 2012 model of the Jeep Wrangler, the Sport version features a 3.6L Pentastar engine. The engine still produces 285hp and 260 lb.-ft torque. Additionally, it gets better fuel economy (17 mpg city/ 21 mpg highway) in the Sport and (16 mpg city/ 21 mpg highway) in the Unlimited Sport model. 

The 3.6L Pentastar V-6 engine is used in the 2012 – 2022 Jeep Wrangler Sport trims. Whether you choose a Sport or Sport S, you’ll get similar torque and horsepower except for a few convenience features added to the Sport S. 

jeep sport 3.6 firing order

Regarding the firing order, it’s pretty much the same as in the other Jeeps I’ve discussed today. That’s 1-2-3-4-5-6 front to back because the cylinders are not on the same bank. If they were numbered along one bank, the engine would vibrate considerably. 

In addition, firing cylinders next to each other in sequence causes immense stress on the crankshaft. However, when the engine fires cylinders opposite each other, the load is distributed evenly across the crankshaft.

Bonus: LS Firing Order: Firing Order & Cylinder Numbers

Identifying Cylinder Numbers in Jeep Wrangler Sport 3.6 

The cylinders on a Jeep Wrangler Sport 3.6 are numbered front to back in the order that they attach to the crankshaft. Typically, cylinder #1 is at the front on the passenger’s side, followed by cylinder #3 in the middle on the passenger’s side, and cylinder #5 on the end of the passenger’s side. 

The driver’s side has the left bank, and it has cylinders #2, #4, and #6. Remember that you’ll find the engine’s serial number on the cylinder block’s left side at the transmission flange. Hence, that’s where you will locate cylinder #6. 

The 3.6L Pentastar engine is used in different vehicles. And the firing order of this engine is 1-2-3-4-5-6. – By JoeTheAutoGuy

Some opinions about firing order and cylinder number of 3.6L V6 engine:

“Most 60 degree v6s firing order is 1-2-3-4-5-6 right down the crankshaft.”

“On the 3.6L, #1 is the passenger front. #2 is driver front and it goes back from there. […]”


The correct Jeep 3.6 firing order is 1-2-3-4-5-6, and it helps with distributing engine load and vibration. Also, the 3.6L Pentastar in Jeep 3.6 vehicles is mounted sideways, and the cylinders are numbered front to back. Now, I believe you can identify the proper cylinder numbers on a Jeep 3.6, which will help you use the correct spark plug wires to avoid a backfire or an engine that won’t start.

Read more: Ford 302 & 302 HO Engine Firing Order

Helpful resources:


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.